Book Beginnings (6 November) Every Fifteen Minutes by Lisa Scottoline

BB.Button

Book beginnings is a meme set up by Rose City Reader. Every Friday post the first line, or few lines, of the book you’re reading along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires. Then add a link to your post on Rose City Reader’s blog.

My Book Beginning

every fifteen minutes

Every Fifteen Minutes by Lisa Scottoline

I’m a sociopath. I look normal, but I’m not. I’m smarter, better, and freer, because I’m not bound by rules, law, emotion, or regard for you. I can read you almost immediately, get your number right away, and push your buttons to make you do whatever I want. I don’t really like you, but I’m so good at acting as if I do that it’s basically the same thing. To you. I fool you. I fool everybody.

The opening lines to this novel are really short statements and very cold, it’s chilling to read them because this person is telling the reader that they are a sociopath and you really do feel that emanating from them. I deliberately haven’t read the synopsis on this book because I want to read it without knowing much about it but the opening lines certainly make me want to know more about this person and who it is they are fooling. I’m intrigued and I’m looking forward to reading more very soon.

Every Fifteen Minutes is due to be published on 19 November 2015.

6 thoughts on “Book Beginnings (6 November) Every Fifteen Minutes by Lisa Scottoline

  1. Great opening that gives insight into the mind of a sociopath. I actually heard Lisa Scottoline speak a couple of times at the Miami International Book Festival. I love her storytelling and her sense of humor. I’ll definitely add this book to my collection.
    My Friday post features HOOT.

Leave a comment