Weekly Wrap Up and Stacking the Shelves (21 November)

It’s weekly wrap up time again!

As I’m sure a lot of you will know from my previous weekly wrap up posts, my blog means an awful lot to me. So this week I couldn’t help but be excited when I spotted that my blog has now had over 5000 page views and over 2000 unique visitors. I’ve only been blogging for under three months so I’m over the moon with how many people have taken the time to read my posts. Thank you so much to you all!

Posts on my blog this week:

I confessed to all of my reading habits in the Reader Habits Book Tag. Please feel free to join in with this tag, and link back to me in your blog post so that I can see your answers.

I also wrote my regular posts as part of the memes I join in with each week. Here are my WWW Wednesday and my Book Beginnings posts.


My week in books:

I’ve read four books this week and have reviewed all of them. (Please click on the titles in the list below the pics to read my reviews)

the single feather ruth hunt  Sky Lantern  The Winter Wedding  IMG_3242

The Single Feather by Ruth F. Hunt  

Sky Lantern by Matt Mikalatos

The Winter Wedding by Abby Clements

Hello, Goodbye and Everything in Between by Jennifer E. Smith

 


 

stacking-the-shelves

I’m also joining in with Stacking the Shelves (hosted by Tynga’s Reviews), which is all about sharing the books that you’ve acquired in the past week – ebooks or physical books, and books you’ve bought or borrowed or received an ARC of.

Books I’ve bought this week: 

a boy called christmas  The Silent Room by Mari Hannah  The Lady in the Van by Alan Bennett  The Dead Dog Day by Jackie Kabler  Getting the Picture by Sarah Salway   From Paris with Love by Jules Wake   State of Wonder by Ann Pratchett   Christmas at Carol's by Nicola Yeager

A Boy Called Christmas by Matt Haig

The Silent Room by Mari Hannah

The Lady in the Van by Alan Bennett

The Dead Dog Day by Jackie Kabler

Getting the Picture by Sarah Salway

From Paris with Love by Jules Wake

State of Wonder by Ann Pratchett

Christmas at Carol’s by Nicola Yeager

 


 

ARCS I’ve received this week:

Girls on Fire by Robin Wasserman  As Good as Dead by Elizabeth Evans  The Accidental Guest by Tilly Tennant  A Christmas Romance by Lynda Renham  Alchemy by Jade Kennedy

Girls on Fire by Robin Wasserman

As Good as Dead by Elizabeth Evans

The Accidental Guest by Tilly Tennant

A Christmas Romance by Amy Perfect (Lynda Renham)

Alchemy by Jade Kennedy

I’m very excited about all of my new books so it’s hard to pick the one I’m most excited to read! I think Girls on Fire has to get a mention as I’ve been hearing quite a bit about it on social media and was thrilled to be approved for it on Net Galley. It has such a great cover too, doesn’t it? I can’t wait to read Matt Haig’s Christmas book. I know it’s a children’s book but Matt Haig is such a wonderful author and I have a feeling that there will be a lot in this book that will resonate with adults too. I’d completely missed that a new Mari Hannah book was out this week so I was super excited when I spotted it and had to buy it immediately. Regular readers of my blog will know how much I love a Christmas book so it probably goes without saying how excited I am to read Tilly Tennant and Amy Perfect’s new Christmas books too!


 

How bookish has your week been? Have you added any books on to your TBR pile? Have you bought a book that you’re particularly excited to read? Let me know in the comments and feel free to link back to your own blog.

 

 

31 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap Up and Stacking the Shelves (21 November)

  1. My week is now measured by WWW ‘s, book beginnings and ‘agh it’s the Weekly Wrap up!!’ I do not believe it’s the end of the week again! Have heard so much about Dead Dog Day, and have that and is it ‘From Italy With Love’ by Jules Wake but bows the time I need to start formulating a plan to read my Chrissie books by the end of November so I can breathe for December and catch up with some paperbacks and autobiographies(my usual December reading!) I probably don’t need to tell you again(I hope you know by now) but great great blog, Trojan work!:))

    • Haha! I was finishing off my weekly wrap up late last night and actually had to stop and think if it was Saturday again today, the weeks are going by so fast! I kept hearing about Dead Dog Day on twitter so I couldn’t resist it any longer. The Jules Wake book I got this week is the sequel to From Italy with Love, which I’ve got but haven’t read yet. I was looking through all of my Christmas books the other day and I really don’t think I’m going to have time to read them all if I want to read other books too. Eeek! I might have to start working out which ones I want to read the most. Thanks for your kind words about my blog, It means a lot to me. 🙂

  2. I have been doing a good job of getting up reviews and not memes, tours, etc. Congrats on your stats! I understand that feeling because in the beginning I was the same way. I hope you enjoy all of your new books!

  3. Ooh, looks like a nice haul! I don’t think I know any of these. I was curious about Hello, Goodbye and Everything in Between, though. Hope you enjoy the new books!

    • Thank you! 🙂 I’ve been wanting to read State of Wonder ever since it was first published but have never got around to it, I spotted it in a kindle deal this week for 99p so I snapped it up. I have the print book but I might get to it sooner now I have it on kindle too. I’ll go have a look at your post now. 🙂

  4. Hi Hayley!
    NICE haul of books! Wow!!! A little it of everything! I LOVE that!!
    Before I go on, I want to apologize if I have misspelled words, etc, because I’ve notices ALREADY I have had several of them, and it’s REALLY slowing me down to keep going back to correct them!
    I woke up today with a migraine. A POUNDING one. I looked up the weather and we have a Winter Storm Warning with up to one foot of snow! Oh, my! There is my answer! I get affected by the weather like that. Does that ever happen to you? I don’t know where you live, so . . . ??? This IS a little wee early for that much snow! Usually it’s the first week of December that we get hit with this much, but never in November! This is a FIRST!!! And the Farmer’s Almanac and EVERYTHING else said we were going to have a MILD winter! LOL!!! I have to laugh HARD because not last year but that previous one, we got over 5 feet, accumulative, of snow! THAT was ODD! Although, for the last decade, we have lived in the city which is right next to Lake Huron, and our neighbors across the lake are Canada, so when the wind is just right, there is a LOT of water in which to whip up a GREAT BIG lake effect snow storm! We’ll see! At 4:00pm it is supposed to start dropping 1″ per hour! That is a LOT of snow per hour! So far, it’s just sticking to the grass and nothing to the concrete!
    I LOVE your books! My favorite, right now, of course, is the holiday books! I LOVE Christmas stories/books! Right now I’m reading a book by Melody Carlson, The Christmas Joy Ride! I LOVE that author for ALL of her Christmas books! I’m a little more than halfway through it, so the review will probably be Sunday night! You’ve seen how MANY books I’ve gotten for review lately, I am going to be VERY busy reading!
    I LOVE your Christmas books right now!!
    Well, stay busy reading now!! We’ll be stuck in the house for today and tomorrow! Hubby gets to shove! I have a neurological muscle disease, so I can’t shovel. Darn, huh! LOL!
    Take care and stay safe with this snow if you get any!
    Laurie
    lauriehere.com
    PS. I AM following you every way I can like you are following me, too!!

  5. Four books in a week…I was lucky I made it through four short stories! Some good books coming up too by the looks of it! Have a good week.

  6. I’ve downloaded quite a few kindle freebies this week and have also purchased Julia Roberts latest. I’ve placed an order on the book people for lots of book gifts for family and me including Lady in the Van. I nipped to Tesco in the week and they had Lindsey Kelk’s latest on offer if you buy a newspaper so it fell in my basket. And I picked up two of Sarah Morgan’s books from a charity shop. So lots of new books on the horizon x

    • Sounds like you’ve had a fab bookish week too then! 🙂 I can’t wait to read Lady in the Van, I adore Alan Bennett but have never read this story so I hope to read it soon. I’ve not read any of Sarah Morgan’s books but I do have a couple of her books on my TBR so I must try and get to them before too much longer. I just wish I had more hours in the day for reading! x

  7. Wow! A huge pile of new reads there and some look really interesting. I’m a lover of mysteries and thrillers so As Good As Dead jumps out at me!

Leave a comment