Weekly Wrap up and Stacking the Shelves (9th January)

I can’t believe it’s Saturday again already!

This week I’ve posted about the books published in 2015 or before that I most want to read this year. You can read that post here if you’d like to. I’d previously posted my most anticipated new releases of 2016 (which can be read here), and I realised that there were so many books that were on my list to read last year that I’d not time to get to so I wanted to even things up.

Also this week I posted an interview that I did with the author of Search for the Truth, Kathryn Freeman.

I did my usual book memes – WWW Wednesday and Book Beginnings.

I’m struggling with reading at the moment. I’m still not 100% health-wise and my physio schedule is really taking it out of me. I’m trying to find to find balance in my life so that I can keep on blogging regularly but at the moment I’m coming unstuck because I don’t have the energy and concentration to read as much as I’d like to. Anyway,  I’ll figure it out eventually!


 

I only managed to read one book this week but I did get a review of it posted (please click on the link below the image to read my review).

The Darkest Secret by Alex Marwood

The Darkest Secret by Alex Marwood

 

stacking-the-shelves

I’m also joining in with Stacking the Shelves (hosted by Tynga’s Reviews), which is all about sharing the books that you’ve acquired in the past week – ebooks or physical books, and books you’ve bought or borrowed or received an ARC of.

This week I’ve treated myself to a few new Kindle books with my Christmas money.

The Life-Changing Magic of Not Giving a F**k by Sarah Knight 

Try Not to Breathe by Holly Seddon

The Big Lie by Julie Mayhew

The Looking Glass House by Vanessa Tait

The Gilded Life of Matilda Duplaine by Alex Brunkhorst

The Country Girls by Edna O’Brien

The Gap of Time by Jeanette Winterson

An Invisible Sign of My Own by Aimee Bender

 

I received some fab ARCS this week too:

The Poison Artist by Jonathan Moore

The Astonishing Return of Norah Wells by Virginia MacGregor

If I forget You by Thomas Christopher Greene

I’ll Be Home for Christmas by Roisin Meaney

The Birthday that Changed Everything by Debbie Johnson

Behind Closed Doors by B. A. Paris

The Second Love of My Life by Victoria Walters

The Missing Hours by Emma Kavanagh

 


What have you been reading this week? Have you bought any new books? Please feel free to link to your wrap-up post, or if you don’t have a blog please share in the comments below! 🙂

 

22 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap up and Stacking the Shelves (9th January)

  1. I hope you’ll feel better, Hayley! It’s not fun to not feel good, and when you can’t even do the things you normally enjoy, it just makes everything worse 😦 Have you tried listening to an audiobook?
    I haven’t heard of any of your new books, but several of them look really good. I hope your energy levels will let you enjoy them really soon.

    • Thanks so much. I just had such a tough year health-wise last year and I think I need to be a bit easier on myself sometimes. I go through phases with audiobooks but I haven’t tried one recently, I might just put one on today and see how I get one. Thanks for suggesting it. 🙂

  2. Those books look good. 😍 I’ve purchased a copy of Up and Running by Shauna Reid this week – my new year’s goal is to learn to run! But like you I have a dream to read all the books I didn’t get around to in 2015 this year, so I’m trying not to buy too much this year….

  3. Just finished the Astonishing return of Norah Wells, was up and down, just a little bit, could have been tired, but at the time I was thinking it was too long but the book as a whole was brilliant, really nicely done with a lot of surprises.By the by, some of those covers are beautiful!

    • There are some gorgeous book covers – I especially love the cover of the Vanessa Tait book – it’s beautiful. It’s a shame that The Astonishing Return of Norah Wells was a but up and down for you but good to know that as a whole you thought it was a good read. I’m hoping to start it this weekend but I’ve just realised how many review books I have here that are out in the next week and there’s no way I can read them all so I need to have a think about how to approach it! Eeek!

  4. Feel better! Those new books all look so tempting…I am especially drawn to something as irreverent as The Life-Changing Magic of Not Giving a F**k!

    I also have always wanted to read The Country Girl. Enjoy! And thanks for visiting my blog.

    • Thank you so much. I’ve had a rough few months health-wise so I think I just need to bear that in mind and be a bit easier on myself. I’m so glad that you found a book you now want to read from my blog, I hope you enjoy it as much as I did. I’ll go have a look at your StS post now, thanks for stopping by mine. 🙂

Leave a comment