WWW Wednesday (23 March 2016)

WWW pic

WWW Wednesday is a meme hosted by Sam at Taking on a World of Words. It’s open for anyone to join in and is a great way to share what you’ve been reading! All you have to do is answer three questions and share a link to your blog in the comments section of Sam’s blog.

The three Ws are:

What are you currently reading?

What did you recently finish reading?

What do you think you’ll read next?

What I’m reading now:

The Swimming Pool by Louise Candlish

The Swimming Pool by Louise Candlish

I started reading this novel yesterday and am really enjoying it. I’m only a few chapters in but I can already sense the slightly sinister atmosphere that is beginning to build. I hope to be well enough to read more of this very soon.

Synopsis:

In the heady swelter of a London summer, the Elm Hill lido opens.

For teacher Natalie Steele, the school holiday typically means weeks of carefully planned activities with her husband Ed and their daughter Molly. But not this year.

Despite Molly’s extreme phobia of the water, Natalie is drawn to the lido and its dazzling social scene, led by the glamorous Lara Channing. Soon Natalie is spending long, intoxicating days with Lara at the pool – and intimate evenings at her home. Natalie’s real life begins to feel very far away.

But is the new friendship everything it seems? Why is Natalie haunted by memories from another summer years ago? And, without realising, has she been swept dangerously out of her depth?

I’m also still reading these books from last week as I’ve not felt up to reading as much in the last few days:

The Stylist by Rosie Nixon

The Day of Second Chances by Julie Cohen

The One-in-a-Million Boy by Monica Wood

Truth, Lies and O-Rings by Allan J. McDonald and James R. Hansen


What I recently finished reading: 

ghostbird cover final  front only

Ghostbird by Carol Lovekin

I adored this book – so much so that it was near impossible for me to put into words how I felt about it. I was on the blog tour yesterday so shared my review (along with an interview with the author), you can read that HERE if you’d like to. I honestly can’t recommend this book highly enough through, it’s definitely one not to be missed!

Synopsis:

Nothing hurts like not knowing who you are. Nobody will tell Cadi anything about her father and her sister. Her mother Violet believes she can only cope with the past by never talking about it. Lili, Cadi’s aunt, is stuck in the middle, bound by a promise she shouldn’t have made. But this summer, Cadi is determined to find out the truth.

In a world of hauntings and magic, in a village where it rains throughout August, as Cadi starts on her search the secrets and the ghosts begin to wake up. None of the Hopkins women will be able to escape them.

 

The Missing by C. L. Taylor

The Missing by C. L. Taylor

I’ve been reading this on and off for the past few days and really enjoyed it. The novel does centre around a mystery and there are some thriller elements to it but it doesn’t really feel like a psychological thriller to me. It is a good read though and I would recommend it.  I hope to have my review up on my blog in the next week or so.

Synopsis:

You love your family. They make you feel safe. You trust them. Or do you…?

When fifteen-year-old Billy Wilkinson goes missing in the middle of the night, his mother, Claire, blames herself. She’s not the only one. There isn’t a single member of Billy’s family that doesn’t feel guilty. But the Wilkinson’s are so used to keeping secrets from one another that it isn’t until six months later, after an appeal for information goes horribly wrong, that the truth begins to surface.

Claire is sure of two things – that Billy is still alive and that her friends and family had nothing to do with his disappearance.

A mother’s instinct is never wrong. Or is it?

Sometimes those closest to us are the ones with the most to hide…


What I plan on reading next:

dear dad by giselle green

Dear Dad by Giselle Green

I plan to start reading this in the next day or two so that I can (hopefully) have my review ready for released day on 31st March. I’ve enjoyed the previous Giselle Green novels that I’ve read so I’m really looking forward to starting this one.

Synopsis:

Handsome, 28-year old, Nate Hardman is a frontline reporter with a big problem. Suffering from shell-shock and unable to leave his house, he’s already lost his social life and his girlfriend. Now his career prospects are sinking fast. 

9 year-old Adam Boxley who lives alone with his ageing nan, also has big problems. Neglected at home and bullied at school, he’s desperate to reach out to his dad – and that’s when he sends his first letter to Nate. Only Nate’s not who he thinks he is. Will he help? More importantly – can he? 

Across town meanwhile, caring but impulsive teacher Jenna Tierney really wants to help Adam – except the feisty redhead has already had enough of teaching. Recently hurt by yet another cheating boyfriend, Jenna’s now set her sights on pursuing a dream career abroad … only she’s about to meet Nate – her dream man who’ll make her re-think everything.  

The big question is; can three people desperate to find love, ever find happiness when they’re only connected by one big lie?

I hope to start reading a couple of other books this week too but I need to finish my current reads first, hopefully I’ll be back to reading at normal speed very soon and can catch up a bit more.


 

What are you reading at the moment? Have you finished any good books recently? Any books you’re looking forward to reading soon? Please feel free to join in with this meme and share your link below, or if you don’t have a blog please share in the comments below.

22 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday (23 March 2016)

  1. Ah, another person who is reading Swimming Pool and One in a Million Boy – Cleo had them on her list too…
    I’m currently reading Sara Gran’s Claire DeWitt and the Dead City, a crime novel set in New Orleans shortly after Hurrican Katrina. A rather unusual detective and approach to crime…

  2. The Swimming Pool and Dear Dad both sound promising to me! I’m finishing He Counts Their Tears by Marie Ann d’Alto. It’s a debut psychologial thriller about a calculated guy who finds his pleasure in detroying women. I think I never hated a character so much ;-).

  3. I’m particularly looking forward to hearing what you make of The Stylist and The Day of Second Chances by Julie Cohen.
    I have my first C L Taylor book on my Kindle in the queue!

    I met Giselle Green at a blogger/author event last weekend and she has sent me a copy of Dear Dad to read. I hope to get to it asap… but you know how it is when you have a book pile!

    Here’s my WWW: https://clairehuston.wordpress.com/2016/03/23/www-wednesday-23rd-march-2016/

    • I hope to have time to read over the next day or so, it’s been one of those weeks this week that hasn’t left me with much chance to read. I am really enjoying both books though. How lovely that you met Giselle Green at an event. I definitely know how it is when you have a book pile (or mountain as I refer to mine!)

  4. Glad you’re enjoying The Swimming Pool. It sure sounds sinister to me. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

  5. You always seem to find the most interesting books.All your books are books that I would like to read especially swimming pool,Dear Dad and Ghostbird.I saw Missing on another list you had,thought I’d want it but from your comments,it doesn’t sound very interesting 😦

    Happy reading,great set of books.Hope you enjoy them.

    • Thank you. I’ve just finished reading The Missing and it was a good read, it just wasn’t what I would class as a psychological thriller so I was a little disappointed on that score. It is a great story though with a real mystery, I would still definitely recommend it.

    • I can’t remember the title of the books I’ve read by her but I did enjoy them. I’m looking forward to starting Dear Dad. I really enjoyed The Disappearance of Emily Marr too. I’ve read most of Louise Candlish’s books and enjoyed them all so I’m keen to read more of The Swimming Pool and see where it goes.

  6. Glad you enjoyed the books you’ve read this week. I’ve always wanted to try reading psychological thriller but am afraid that I would not like it.

  7. Pingback: Weekly Wrap-Up (27 March 2016) | RatherTooFondofBooks

Leave a comment