Stacking the Shelves (23 April)

stacking-the-shelves

(Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews, which is all about sharing the books that you’ve acquired in the past week – ebooks or physical books, and books you’ve bought or borrowed or received an ARC of.)

This week I’ve bought a few new books:

Eligible by Curtis Sittenfeld

I’ve had Eligible on pre-order ever since it was available to order as I badly wanted to read it. I’ve enjoyed the novels by Curtis Sittenfeld that I’ve read before and with this being based on Pride and Prejudice I simply couldn’t resist it. I know I say this all the time but I definitely plan to read this one soon.

Naive. Super by Erland Loe

This was a random spot on Amazon this week when I was searching for another book. I just loved the idea of it and as it’s a short read I’m sure I’ll be able to squeeze it in while trying to catch up on review books.

Melissa by Jonathan Taylor

This book has such an intriguing premise for me – the idea of a musical hallucination experienced at the same time as a young girl dies. I really hope to read this very soon.

The Disappearance by Annabel Kantaria

This is another book that I’d pre-ordered a while ago when it was on offer for the bargain price of 99p! I just loved the sound of the synopsis and am sure this will be a book I find hard to put down!

 

Disraeli Avenue by Caroline Smailes

I’m not sure how I’ve not bought and read this book before as I love Caroline Smailes’ writing and I’ve read all of her other books (apart from The Finding of Martha Lost, written under the name Caroline Wallace but even that is on my TBR waiting for me). This book was in the kindle deal section for £1.49 this week so I snapped it up and will try to read it before too long.

 


Books I received for review:

All is Not Forgotten by Wendy Walker

This is the secret mystery thriller that a lot of bloggers have been reading recently. I saw the the title and synopsis had finally been revealed and knew it sounded like a book I simply had to read so I was thrilled when my request was accepted on Net Galley.

The Sister by Louise Jensen

This is the latest thriller signed to the brilliant publisher, Bookouture. The premise sounds brilliant and as I’m auto-approved for Bookouture I just couldn’t resist downloading a copy. I don’t think this will be on my TBR for very long!

My Husband’s Wife by Jane Corry

This is another book that I’ve heard a lot about, and was very keen to read. I did actually pre-order this book on Amazon but when I spotted it on Net Galley I requested it hoping I’d get the chance to read and review it before release day.

The Girl Who Lied by Sue Fortin

I’ve not read any of Sue Fortin’s books before (although I do have a couple of my TBR) but the premise of this one sounds so good that I knew I had to read it.

Miss E. by Brian Herberger

I happened to see this book mentioned in a tweet this week and happily RT’d it as it sounded like a great read. I was thrilled when the author got in touch to offer me a copy of the book to read and review, of course I couldn’t say no to such a great sounding book! I believe the ebook is out now and it’s due out in print in June so I plan to get to this as soon as I can.


 

So, that’s all of my new books from the past week. Have you bought any new books recently? Tell me all in the comments below, or if you have a stacking the shelves post on your blog feel free to post the link below too.:)

My weekly wrap up post will be on my blog tomorrow so please look out for that.

 

36 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves (23 April)

    • There are some great book covers on these books. The Disappearance is one I’m really looking forward to, I hope I can read it soon. Thanks for stopping by, I’ll go read your post now. 🙂

    • I was fascinated by the premise of Melissa too. I love that through books we can find things we identify with or things we’ve experienced, and also learn more about something we might otherwise not know or understand anything about. I’ve commented on your post 🙂

  1. The Sister is patiently waiting on my Kindle shelf, I can’t wait to read it. I am curious about My Husband’s Wife, I feel like a nosy neighbor sensing a juicy story just around the corner, haha.

  2. I heard Curtis Sittenfeld give an interview of Radio 4 about Eligible and will be interested to hear your take on it. I’m probably going to wait until and get it from the library:).

    • I’ll have to see if I can find that interview on catch up. I hope to read Eligible soon – I have so many review books waiting to be read at the moment that I feel I have to focus on those but I might squeeze this one in along side them.

      • I’ve taken to putting up a schedule of when all my NetGalley books are due for publication so I get to read them in good time. I got into an unholy muddle last year, when I first started… I’ll be fascinated to discover how you get on with this one.

        • I have a list of all my NG books in order of pub. date too so I can keep track. I still sometimes miss a date because life got in the way of reading but it keeps me roughly on track. It’s so easy to get in a muddle with them. I’ll definitely review this once I’ve read it.

  3. Pingback: Weekly Wrap-Up (24 April) | RatherTooFondofBooks

  4. I really enjoyed Eligible too! Was desperate to read it! It’s an easy and enjoyable read, I gave it a high rating. Also absolutely adored “finding Martha lost” and didn’t know she’d written more- have bought one second hand from Amazon but will look up the other kindle offer now! Thanks for rec! Hoping to be approved for Wendy walker title… Thanks for the weekly update!

    • I can’t wait to start reading Eligible, I might have to sneak it in between review books. 🙂 Caroline Wallace (who wrote Finding Martha Lost) also writes as Caroline Smailes – I think the books she writes under that name are more heavy going than Martha Lost but they’re all very good. Hope you get approved for the Wendy Walker book. Thanks for taking time to comment 🙂

  5. You have some nice books. My Husband’s Wife got put on my tbr for sure. I hope you have a great reading week.

Leave a comment